JC Ryle (1816-1900)

My frugal self (read cheap) has prompted me to seek the best buys in terms of the most/best reading material for my e-reader. I have collected (but not yet read all) works by Spurgeon, Calvin, Edwards, Milton, Finney, Moody, etc., all of which tend to be quite inexpensive. I have recently been reading “Top 7 Classics on Holiness” by some familiar authors, but it also includes works by names with which I was unfamiliar.

One author in particular has caught my attention; that being Bishop J.C. Ryle, (1816-1900), the first Anglican Bishop of Liverpool (J.C. Ryle). His book, “Holiness: Its Nature, Hindrances, Difficulties and Roots” , written in 1877, is included in this anthology. The book’s 21 chapters constitute an amazingly thorough treatise on Holiness, but, if you are strapped for time, I recommend reading Ryle’s own introduction to the book. It will surely open your eyes to some of the greatest theological thinking of the nineteenth century.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

